



April 10, 2014

Dear ICS members,

It is our great pleasure to announce that the 2014 MCS-ICS Award in Memory of Barry Cohen will be awarded to Prof. Richard B. Silverman for his outstanding contributions to the field of enzyme inhibition and the development of new compounds for treatment of neurological disorders.

Professor Silverman received his B.S. degree in chemistry from Pennsylvania State University in 1968 and his Ph.D. degree in organic chemistry from Harvard University in 1974. After two years as a NIH postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of the late Professor Robert Abeles at Brandeis University, he joined the chemistry faculty at Northwestern University. In 1986 he became Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Cell Biology. Since 2004 he has been the John Evans Professor of Chemistry. He is most known for his invention of pregabalin, a blockbuster drug used to treat epilepsy, neuropathic pain and fibromyalgia, marketed by Pfizer under the trade name Lyrica with USA retail sales nearing \$2 billion. Professor Silverman holds over 45 patents, has written four books and has published over 300 research articles on the molecular mechanisms of action, rational design, and syntheses of potential medicinal agents, particularly for neurodegenerative diseases.

His long list of prizes and awards includes the 1990 Fellow of the AAAS, 2000 Northwestern University Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award, 2003 Arthur C. Cope Senior Scholar Award of the ACS, 2008 Alumni Fellow Award, Pennsylvania State University, 2009 Perkin Medal, the 2013 Bristol-Myers Squibb-Edward, the Smissman Award of the ACS, 2013 Roland T. Lakey Award from Wayne State University, 2012 Sato Memorial International Award of the Pharmaceutical Society of Japan, 2011 Fellow of the ACS, 2011 Hershberg Award for Important Discoveries in Medicinally Active Substances of the ACS, and others.



Prof. Richard B. Silverman r-silverman@northwestern.edu

It is the second year that this prestigious prize is being awarded. The ceremony will take place at the 12th Annual Meeting of the Medicinal Chemistry Section in June 23-24, 2014, at David Lopatie Conference Centre, Weizmann Institute of Science.

Congratulations to Prof. Silverman for his achievements!

Dr. Raphael Nudelman
President

The Medicinal Chemistry Section of the ICS

Prof. Ehud Keinan

President

The Israel Chemical Society